Match Reports




Grendal lost to Bridgwater Doctors by 4 wickets

Grendal 128 for 9

Doctors 129 for 6

On an artificial wicket in Bristol the home side were constrained to a painfully slow start by the pinpoint accuracy of John Down and James Powell. Both openers fell to Powell (2-11), one to a fine low catch by Alan Dunkley at backward square leg, while Down’s mesmeric bowling yielded only two runs off the bat in 6 overs. Joe Lee kept the pressure on the middle order which meant that chances had to be taken and the ball was frequently hit in the air. For a while the policy succeeded as A.Spicer (10) and P.Barker (17) put on 33 for the third wicket. The turning point in the innings came in an over from Peter Reed (2-27) in which both batsmen fell to successive balls. D.Rooke (13) survived the hat trick ball and went on to play an attacking cameo until he was undone by an excellent low catch at mid off by Charles MacAdam off the bowling of Ian Stansfield (1-15). MacAdam (1-13) was rewarded for this by an equally good catch off his bowling by David Gwynne Jones at mid on. Stansfield fielded spectacularly at deep cover as B.Russell (26 n.o.) strove to improve his side’s position but to no avail as Graham Fergusson’s leg spin clinically dispatched the tail.

There were early successes for Grendal as Gwynne Jones pulled a full toss from C.Canavalli (1-40) to deep midwicket and D.Howells (1-20) found the bottom edge of Fergusson’s new bat as an attempted pull shot was unluckily played on to the stumps. Captain Keith Powell led from the front with a pugnacious innings of 36, ended prematurely when he misjudged the line of Maurice Pell (2-20). The result was never in doubt as long as the elegant Will Chandler was at the crease. Immensely secure at first and increasingly aggressive as the bowlers wilted he shepherded his side to within 2 runs of the target. With only one blow required for victory and for his own fifty, Chandler (49) attempted the grand finale and was well stumped by Steve Griffin off Russell (2-42). The honour of scoring the winning runs went to Lee with more than 12 overs to spare.